The Man Who Gave Us Dracula


stokerOn this day in 1912,  Bram Stoker  died at No. 26 St George’s Square, London. He was cremated, and his ashes placed in a display urn at Golders Green Crematorium.  Born in Dublin, Ireland, on November 8, 1847, Bram Stoker published his first literary work, The Duties of Clerks of Petty Sessions in Ireland, a handbook in legal administration, in 1879. Turning to fiction later in life, Stoker published his masterpiece, Dracula, in 1897. Deemed a classic horror novel not long after its release, Dracula has continued to garner acclaim for more than a century, inspiring the creation of hundreds of film, theatrical and literary adaptations. In addition to Dracula, Stoker published more than a dozen novels before his death in 1912.

the primrose pathIn 1875, Stoker published his first horror story, The Primrose Path. He continued to publish writings while managing the successful Lyceum Theatre, including the story Under the Sunset (1882) and the novel The Snake’s Pass (1890), earning modest acclaim. More notably, he garnered public praise for his many roles dedicated to the arts.

 

draculaIn 1897, Stoker published his masterpiece, Dracula. While the book garnered success after its release, its popularity has continued to grow for more than a century. Deemed a classic horror novel today, Dracula has inspired the creation of numerous theatrical, literary and film adaptations. Among them are the 1931 film Dracula, starring actor Bela Lugosi, and F.W. Murnau’s 1922 film Nosferatu, starring Max Schreck.

 

Following the release of Dracula, Stoker quickly began work on new writings. He would publish 19 novels before the end of his life. Among Stoker’s later works are Miss Betty (1898), The Duties of Clerks of Petty Sessions in Ireland 1879, The Mystery of the Sea (1902), The Jewel of Seven Stars(1904) and The Lair of the White Worm (1911), which was later published under the title The Garden of Evil.

Stoker served as Lyceum’s manager for nearly 30 years, until his the death of his friend Irving in 1905. Seven years later, on April 20, 1912, Stoker died in London, England.

brahm stoker

 

15 thoughts on “The Man Who Gave Us Dracula

    • The internet is a wonderful thing – search engines if asked the right questions will get you just about anything.

      I new he died on the 20th (I’m a day late posting this oops) but I didn’t know where the actual crypt was since he was cremated but a little digging and voila!

      Like

      • It’s 5 pm Monday and I have to chop up the chicken and put it in the marinade for the stir fry later tonight. Didn’t realize I’d let it get so late in the day without doing it – oops.

        Sleep was good last night, no noisy wildlife Yay!! Must be nearly time for sleep where you are. Hope you had a good Easter. Jenni

        Like

      • You buy packaged chicken… Tell me you do?! Yeah it’s mid night here… 5 pm there.. Wow.. How many time zones are in Australia?

        Like

      • No – I get the chickens all cut up from the butcher. The same way I buy all the meat. We have a freezer and I stock it once or twice a month. 1/2 cow and 1/2 lamb all cut up into their different parts by the butcher, chickens some whole and some cut up as well as pork and duck.

        It makes it much less expensive and the farmer we buy from doesn’t use nasty hormones or anything in his feed and the butcher just charges a fee for the cutting up. The chickens etc we just buy direct from the butcher but he uses the free range farms outside Mackay.

        It’s mainly to save money and also I cook every day and hate the idea of packaged sauces etc so I make my own. It’s the only part of housekeeping or wifely behavior I have down to a fine art. I love cooking and I’m good at it, the more complicated the prep the more fun.

        Regular shopping is just once a fortnight and what I don’t grow vege & salad wise I get weekly from the fruit/veg market at the Northern Beaches.

        Our time zones are a little odd as Qld is the only place that doesn’t go with daylight saving. In non-daylight saving time it goes like this, Qld 6 pm, NSW, 6.30 pm, VIC 7pm, ACT, TAS & SA 7.30, NT 5.30 pm, WA 5 pm. In daylight saving times I get confused myself and usually don’t even try to figure it out as it gets really odd.

        Like

  1. Neat piece of information Jenni. I have read Dracula, of course, but none of Bam’s other works. Thank You for this memorium.

    Like

    • It was the first horror book I ever read and I was about 10. Mum asked me to give her a hand to take the washing into the laundry and in the old house it meant crossing the garage in the dark for two steps until you reached the cord to yank on the lights. She was behind me and just as I was about to turn on the light she went Arghh.

      I jumped and squealed like the 10 yr girl I was but mum was not in the least bit sorry. I think she was trying to turn me away from scary books [she and dad never stopped me reading but they may have herded me some in retrospect] but it didn’t have the desired result as I am an unashamed reader of the horror genre.

      Like

Leave a Reply

